best international SchoolsStudent AchievementStudent Stories

Embracing the Torchbearers: Celebrating Leadership at our Investiture Ceremony

  • 18 May 2023

“Leadership is not a title, it is a role that demands active action. Once you imbibe this trait you will learn to cherish every step you take, under its mighty shade.”

Investiture is a formal process and a tradition at school, where we invest in our students with authority, power, right, and dignity. Another wonderful year has gone by, and we are ready to start fresh with our new student council.

The preparations started around one month back. Students participated in the whole process full heartedly. As soon as the official announcement was made, children nominated themselves for the postitions in the student council that fascinated them the most. A mentoring session was also conducted that helped them with their portfolio, presentation and interview skills.  Post preparation, Level 1 interviews were conducted with coordinators, where they proudly showcased their portfolios and shared their ambitions. Shortlisted candidates went on further for Level 2 interviews with their respective Segment Heads, parallely campaigning to gather popularity and votes amongst the student community. Based on the votes and interview scores, the final merit list was prepared, and the leaders were chosen.

The investiture ceremony signifies the belief that the school hands down in the newly invested office bearers. Today our principled and confident Oakridgers stand here, ready to take the responsibility of leading their School from the front with their commitment, confidence, and competence.

Esteemed Guests for the Day:

The day was decorated by our guests for the day: Col. Anupam Singh Randhawa and Dr. Asha Katoch.

Col. Randhawa had studied in Punjab Public School, Nabha. He had also served National Defense from 1988-1990. He had joined India Military Academy in 1991. He is presently serving as commanding officer in Chandigarh Girls Batallion NCC. We are grateful to him for accepting our invitation and becoming a chief guest of today’s event.

Dr Asha Katoch is an anesthesiologist who has also served at the army alongside her husband. She also runs a non-profit organization called Developing Indigenous Resources (DIR) which helps in empowering people living in urban slums. She is truly a living inspiration for all of us.

Both the guests interacted with the school community, share the wonderful learnings and experiences from their lives.

The new Student Council comprises of:

  1. UNICEF Ambassador

Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much!

Mannat Kaur Khera of grade 8J to take the charge of making a change, in collaboration with the entire school fraternity.

  1. Global Campus Ambassador

Sometimes, reaching out and taking someone’s hand is the beginning of a journey.

To instill the vigor of being a global citizen in everyone, Siya Iyer of grade 10A takes the responsibility.

  1. Share a dream Ambassador

Small acts when multiplied by millions of people, can transform the world. There is incredible value in being of service to others.

Rashmi Thakur from grade 4B, Riya from grade 5A representing the Primary Segment and from the secondary Segment we have: Riyan Kaundal from grade 6A, Aarna Kharbanda from grade 8B, Ashmita Roy from grade 7J, Jashanpreet Singh from grade 6A.

  1. CAS Ambassadors

As we work to create light for others, we naturally light our own way.

Rabjyot Singh of grade 11J and Arshdeep Kaur of IBDP 1

  1. Ambassadors

True life is lived when tiny changes occur, and true happiness is felt when we are the reason for that tiny change.

With this now we would like to introduce our newly elected Ambassadors of the Primary student council: Fatehjot Singh and Manreet Kaur of grade 5A, Praneel Goyal and Amaya Verma of grade 5B, Darbie Kaur of grade 5C, Mehtaab Singh of grade 4B, and Aarnav Vashishth and Smriti Manchanda of grade 4A.

  1. House Leaders

Next we have Ambassadors representing the four houses from the secondary Segment: 

  • Sabeer of grade 6A and Inayat of grade 8J from Mozart House.
  • Ishrat Kaur of grade 6A and Ashwath of grade 8B from Pascal House.
  • Sabreen of grade 8B and Tanmay Singla of grade 8A from Picasso House.
  • Sanvi Midha of grade 8J and Rishi of grade 8A from Shakespeare House.

Stepping ahead, we would like to introduce our House captains:

  • We have Riyana  of grade 10J to take charge of the Mozart House.
  • Bisman Kaur of grade 10A to head the Pascal House.
  • Mankanwar Mann of grade 9J to lead the Picasso House.
  • Tejasvi Gill of grade 10A to lead the Shakespeare House.

The entire student council is supported by four strong pillars whose guidance helps the students conduct different activities. Yes, they are the House in charges.

  • Ms Stuti from secondary Segment and Ms Shruti Chawla from primary segment heading the Mozart House.
  • Ms Bulbul from Secondary Segment and Mr Shadab Quasher from Primary Segment heading the Pascal House.
  • Ms Kamaljeet  from secondary segment and Ms Anu Bala from primary segment heading the Picasso House.
  • Ms Bhavna from secondary segment and Ms Aenna Bansal from primary segment heading the Shakespeare House.
  1. Activity Captain

Arts and activities are essential elements of education, just like reading, writing and arithmetic…music, dance, painting and theater are all keys that unlock profound human understanding and accomplishments.

With this thought we have Divyansh Jefferin of grade 9A as our activity captain for the session 2023-24.

  1. PE Captain

Intelligence and skills function at the peak of their capacity when the body is healthy and strong.

To sow the seed of encouragement and love for Physical education amongst the students we have our PE captain, Arfaz Khan of grade 9J, who is already a representing the school in Global Cup Goa.

  1. DEIB Ambassadors

Promoting Diversity, Equality, Inclusion and Belongingness (DEIB) in education is essential for the holistic development of every individual that is associated with the school community and thrives to make a difference in the outer world. 

So, we welcome our DEIB Ambassadors for the current academic session: Niquisha Matta of grade 4B, Yuvraj Chaudhary and Vinan Kumar of grade 5C.

  1. Vice-Presidents:

From the secondary segment we have Bismanpreet Kaur and Bikramaditya of IBDP 1 as Vice presidents.

  1. Presidents:

From the primary segment we have Viaan Dharmani and Navya Arora of grade 5C and Hartegh Singh from IBDP 2, representing the secondary segment for the session- 2023-24.

We congratulate our young and enthusiastic oakridgers for taking these small steps onto the path of being a great leader of tomorrow.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *